My Girl

Back in the year 2000 this girl and I, if asked about the other, would have said, “She seems like a bitch.” (We weren’t wrong)

We had been on the dance team with each other, played softball, done chorus and musicals together, and had been going to the same school since 6th grade, even having quite a few friends in common… We just never connected. 

Then in 2001, at Jay’s graduation party, we were sitting at a picnic table with mutual friends and we clicked. I don’t know why, or how, or what changed, but it did and it was such a strong connection almost immediately. It was like two puzzle pieces that you know must go together, but you couldn’t get them to until you stepped back and looked at it from a different angle, then with just a little turn they fit perfectly, and you wonder why it took you so long to figure it out. 

That summer after graduation we bonded like crazy. I was upset and afraid she’d be hurt that it was too late to include her in my wedding that September (yes, I was young and stupid), but she said she was glad she didn’t have to wear pink.

She came to see me off at the Pittsburgh airport when I moved to Florida, and called me at least once a week to check on me and update me on life back home. 

When my (now ex) husband went over seas and I moved back home we became even closer. I was at her family’s second home nearly every weekend, unless she couldn’t make it up, then I drove down to stay in Pittsburgh. When she moved up to that home more permanently, I practically lived there too. 

We went shopping together, haunted houses, doctor appointments, she even got me drunk for the first time (and helped take care of me for my 3 day hangover). We were just about inseparable. When we weren’t together physically we’d watch TV shows, especially dog shows on holidays, while on the phone so we could laugh at each other’s commentary.

When my ex’s tour was over and I was moving to NY we were heartbroken at having to be separated, but she still called me to check in like before. I listened to her problems, and she helped me through so much, including the messy heartbreak that was the end of my marriage. She wanted me to come home after that, but still supported my stubborn ass when I told her I had to prove that I could do it on my own, even if that meant living in the ghetto. 

When Barry came around she was happy for me, even though she was worried he’d break my heart. And now she loves him, and our children, too. 

She knows me to the core, gets my twisted sense of humor, and loves me for saying what other people feel guilty for thinking.

She’s been such a constant in my life, like the sister I never had, even when I’m shitty at keeping in touch, I know she’s there. So, I hope she knows that I will be there for her no matter what, and that I appreciate everything she’s done for me, and that she gives some of the best hugs, and I love her so very, very much, and I hope her birthday today brings her every happiness.

She’s my person, and my favorite bitch. 

2 thoughts on “My Girl

  1. I am so happy you were brought into my life. I honestly dont know what I would do without you by my side. You are the cheese to my macaroni my Sue!!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

