Ninja Memories

Sometimes you get blindsided by a memory…

Fact: Barry does not share food with dogs. If he drops something on the floor he will pick it up and put it in the garbage before he will let them eat it. That’s just the way he is.

Before the kids were born Barry used to make pancakes all the time (he’s really good at it), now the kids just want cereal, the weirdos. Usually he’d tell me to go sit down and he’d bring me my plate. One morning I was in the kitchen to make a cup of tea as he finished up the last little bit of pancake batter. I mentioned how cute the little baby pancake was and he said, “Well, you can’t have it, that’s Heidi’s pancake. She gets the first one, because it doesn’t look as nice, and the last one.” I was shocked and laughed and laughed. This tough guy won’t even let the dogs eat scraps, but he’d made my dog a special pancake, and it had been going on for a couple years! Peanut and Sally were both there, but they didn’t get a thing, just Heidi.

image

After Heidi passed (5 1/2 years ago) Barry would just eat the Heidi pancakes, because he doesn’t give dogs people food.

image

Today, after I’d made the kids pancakes, there was a little bit of batter left, just enough for a Heidi pancake. So of course, I remembered her watching him, patiently waiting with her big goofy grin, for her special pancake. And I totally cried for missing her, and sent her loving thoughts as I ate her pancake.

Leave a Reply

